126th Gavel Meeting

126th Gavel meeting was held at 5.00 p.m. 24/11/2011 at CSLR. This meeting marked a milestone in the Gavel history as we were under the newly appointed president Niles Perera. Though the members were more than happy to see the new president on duty, the weather was not quite happy about it.

However this day was important due to several reasons. New logo, as assigned by the Toastmasters International was introduced by our immediate past president Channa Gunasekara. Moreover the new template for the agenda designed by Thushan Ganegedara was chosen as the new Gavel agenda template. Last but not least was the introduction of a Competent Leadership evaluator to evaluate all the role players for the Competent Leadership manual.

Role players of the meeting were as follows,

Toastmaster – Damith Senanayake
Topics Master – Charith Akalanka
Timer – Dinesh Kenady
Ah Counter – Romesh Malinga
Grammarian – Sandareka Wickramanayake
General Evaluator – Pasan Pethiyagode
CL Evaluator – Channa Gunasekera
Table Topics Evaluator I – Hasini Abeywickrama
Table Topic Evaluator II – Chathuranga Kannangara
Prepared Speech Evaluator – Niles Perera

After an enjoyable round robin session, where members gave life to their thoughts came the table topic session. Next came the voice of the Inter University Best Speaker semifinalist Rajasooriya delivering a breath-taking speech on, “Never say die”. Then two project chairs for the Orientation Programme ’11 Sandareka Wickramanayaka and Dinesh Kennedy were called upon to explain the procedure of the programme.

Finally the meeting was adjourned by our fresh president, Niles Perera.

One Comment